History. Comics. Comics about history.

(title is from the manga Saiyuki, which remains, to this day one of my favorite mangas, if not my MOST favorite manga, I just love the story and the whole ‘spanning centuries and about loyalty despite time and demonic influences’ thing. Maybe someday I’ll write a post about it but for now, sorry, a tangent)

Recently saw ‘Thor’ twice, and am kind of planning to see it again, this time in 3d. But anyways, it got me thinking about Loki, bad guys, Magneto, Richard III, etc. A lot of times, I usually end up liking what is supposed to be the villain (read: Magneto, Dark Phoenix, Catwoman, Shakespeare’s Richard III, Callisto from Xena, Schwartz from WeiB Kreuz, the Kougaji group from Saiyuki, and now Loki)because they are sometimes more dimensional than the good guy. They’re more interesting to follow, story wise, and sometimes, in the case of Magneto(and I assume Loki also, from what I could get from the movie) have very valid and good reasons for being the way they are that I often hesitate to label them bad guys. My friend and I often have this discussion where we say ‘ I can’t say Magneto is my favorite villain because I actually don’t think he IS a villain,’ ‘Can we relabel Catwoman as something else since she’s not as evil and horrible as the Joker so why do we keep putting her in that same group?” And so when I get started thinking on bad guys and how their stories are so interesting, heartbreaking, even, it makes me want to make a story about a bad guy.

Currently, I’m in the midst of writing a webcomic about five people after they survive the Civil War and the people around them. I want to explore the ramifications of the War and their lives on the characters, but I don’t have a real ‘bad guy’. I have a bitchy woman, I have a man who made a mistake when he was younger and it’s chased him since, I have a woman who was hurt so badly she’ll never recover. The only bad people are the ones in  those characters’ backstories, and the only bad guy I’m even thinking about using is a psycho who kidnaps one of the main female characters, but I’m actually thinking about not doing that story: a kidnapping where the female has to use her wits to escape the killer while her friends look for her has become a trope after all.

But after watching Thor and remembering how I feel about Magneto and Loki and Richard III, I kind of wish I was a better writer so I could introduce a real ‘bad guy’ into my story, and have the person be subtly playing the other people against each other for some reason, but..I wanted to do a comic about people and how they learn to heal after their time in the Civil War. Also, ironically, it kind of serves my point that I can’t just make up a bad guy/villain, because my story is trying to express the idea that in life there are no bad guys OR good guys, but just people doing the best they can with what they’ve endured.

Leave a Reply

